Home | Today's Headlines | Contact | New Sites | Job Centre | Investment Centre

Reader Comments on Aardvark Daily 31 August 2001

Note: the comments below are the unabridged submissions of readers and do
not necessarily reflect the opinions of the publisher.


From: "Jenkins, Peter"
For :  The Editor (for publication)
Subjt: How unprofessional!

In regards to the Mail based SPAM - Even their Email address on their
letterhead doesnt work!

And they proport to be an Internet company....HA!

   ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----

   ----- Transcript of session follows -----
550 5.1.2 ... Host unknown (Name server: b.: host not

Another thing is they do not mention anywhere on the letter that they sent
that there is a chance that you will not get your domain, but it does
state that you should look at their terms and conditions on their website
- This is very misleading, if you dont read the small print you could be
under the impression that you are actually getting the domain.  Other
registers like REGISTER.COM only charge US$5 per "Chance" to get your
domain name.

From: Kane
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: Total snail mail spam

It's total snail mail spam. We have just received over 30
copies of the same letter.

From: Dave Marks
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: Internet Name Group

Since the e-mail address doesn't work let us all fax
our "Protect Your Domain Name!" forms back to their
freephone fax number 0800 445 717 with suitable comments
written on.

From: Drew Whittle
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: .INFO

FYI, .info is out of the sunrise period and in the quiet
time while they work out who got what domain and prepare
for open slather.

From: Ewen McNeill
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: ING: even to domains that were cancelled

I've just cleared my postbox -- and received 4 copies of
this junk mail.  Curiously two of them refer to domain names
that I cancelled several months ago, which are no longer
listed in the nz register.  And I appear to have missed out
on one for the non-co.nz name I've got.

Hopefully Domainz will be seeking an explanation of where
all this information was obtained (since it seems rather
coincidental that it matches what was in the Domainz
records), and taking appropriate action.

From: Craig Whitmore
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: ING

I have a number of domain names and I recieved _alot_ of
these letters.. I know of people who have got over 50 of
these each :-(

Things to Note

1)Its an Austrialian Company and the $250 incl GST/domain
is AU dollars!! (see the terms and conditions of the web
site) (is this right _not_ tax department)

2) Email is broken!!

3) You are basially paying $250 for a lottery that you
_might_ get the domain name (and you can't get your money
back and it "runs out" in 1 years if you don't use it with

4) A Number of calls to them.. they have not been able to
tell me (no one knows) where the Information Comes from (it
came from  a whois/domainz site which is copyrighted to Domainz)

5)  You are not "protecting" your domain. as 1000's of
others could try and get it as well.

From: Philip S
For : The Editor (for publication)
Subj: Heres an idea

Well everyone seems to be largly annoyed at being sent so
many letters...heres my idea: right "return to sender" on
the envelope and send them straight back :)
Then they will get a few hundred of their letter straight

Now Have Your Say

Home | Today's Headlines | Contact | New Sites | Job Centre | Investment Centre